Overall Score

8.5
Please Vote!

AVG,are a well know antivirus provider, famously known for their freemium busines model. This review is of the AVG Internet Security offereing. They currently have 24 different products on the market and are not all security software related either, they range from PC tune-up packages to Driver updaters. Founded in 1991 by Jan Gritzbach, AVG therefore has 25 years worth of experience, giving them an advantage over a lot of competing companies. Their software is well tuned and gives good results, which is great news for such an important piece of software. In 2016 AVG were sold to AVAST for around $1.3 billion dollars!

  • Features - 8
  • Security - 10
  • Support - 8
  • Affordability - 8
Features

Features

Whether you’re contemplating taking the plunge and getting the Pro package, or think the free version will suffice, then maybe we can explain the major differences or similarities. For a start, every package whether it’s free, Internet Security or Ultimate all come with the same Antivirus functions and also include link protection (hyperlink scanning for websites and social media), but unfortunately this is where the similarities end. The feature set of Antivirus are much more advanced including features like password protection, online shield and free support. Pro then takes it to the next level, you get all of the above features but also an added bonus of Anti-spam, Shopping protection, Mac and Android support and priority updates. All of these features are soon to be an essential part of security software with the increase of malware attacks.

Security

Security

As mentioned earlier AVG has over 25 years of experience meaning you’d expect the product to be stable with a clean, easy to navigate interface. Bingo, that’s what you’ll get and not only is the design great the detection functions are very effective too! Some people will say that the software does take a lot of processing power, so if you’re running a very low spec PC then maybe this software isn’t for you.

  • VB100 - 100.00%
  • AV Test - 100.00%
  • AV Comparatives - 99.60%
Support

Support

Social media support is a must these days but some companies still refuse to keep up with the times. AVG aren’t one of these, they happily support their customers via Facebook and Twitter as well as offering live chat and of course phone support too. AVG also provide a support centre on their website, which isn’t usually someone’s first port of call when it comes to support, most people find speaking to someone is much more productive, however we love the support centre AVG have developed and honestly feel like you can sort most issues out without having to pick up the phone.

Affordability

Affordability

AVG Internet Security package offers 10 devices for $79.99/year. This multi-device packageis designed to support a whole familys devices including android, mac and iOS devices. You may think this is a bit pricey but the ultimate plan is priced at $99.99 per year for unlimited devices but 10 is probably the maium you will have in a household anyway. Of course you could stick to the free version, but the feature set of the Internert Security is much more advanced and quite frankly too good to miss out on, well this is our opinion anyway.

  • Overall rating

William Bosworth - 08/07/2019

Very good , but I bought cover for two years for my computer and iPad, my computer is broken, so I’m not sure if my iPad is covered

Janet Bennett - 07/22/2019

I had no problems until the end of May 2019 when the message to update came up...Now or later. I chose NOW and left for the day. The next day my screen was black with teeny yellow fonts that needed a Magnifying glass to read. We checked all settings and the only thing that changed was the screen came back white but light yellow fonts. All pictures and images were in negative form and unusable. About June 18 I called a tech and he came by the house. The problem was somehow, possibly when updated, all the settings were scrambled and addresses & contacts were gone. I changed to McAfee.

bonne - 06/14/2019

I paid for AVG premium support and the tech left my computer in an unusable state. I contacted AVG because my paid subscription for anti-virus protection had suddenly reverted to AVG-Free. After restoring the full version, the tech said I should purchase their premium plan to clean-up the system and enhance performance. I said I didn't need it. She kept pushing - I said that even the 3-month package was more than I was prepared to buy. She said "What if I give you a discount? How about $50?" I decided to try it out, I paid and she turned the call over to another tech. The tech did "something", said everything was good. The next day, my computer would not load past the welcome step. When I phoned again the tech fiddled around for an hour and started it remotely. The next time I rebooted the machine, the same thing happened. This time I was told that this was my last day of support (2 weeks not the 3 months that the first persion had indicated I was buying). When I explained that the problem had been caused by their tech (which they did not dispute) and wanted them to extend the support time, their response was that they had solved the original problem and so that was all they had to do. I finally talked to a supervisor who very condescendingly said I could have ONE phone call in the next two week period without have to give them more money. The appropriate response would have been "Don't worry about the time, we'll work with you to make sure that the problem is solved." If the problem is in fact fixed, there would be no more calls and this response would cost them zero dollars; if the problem is not fixed they would be acting responsibly and correcting the error. (Imagine taking your car to a mechanic to have the brakes adjusted, having him accidentally damage the engine and then saying "I fixed the brakes so I don't have to do anything else.") Since then I have noticed several AVG services running on my system that I do not recall seeing before. One is avgbIDSAgent, the other is AVG Service. If I understand correctly, neither one is necessary for virus protection or internet security, but both are large resource consumers. Shut down and start up on my machine are much slower than before AVG made changes to the system. In addition, the network printer which is still installed as the default printer no longer is automatically selected by the text editor I regularly use (I have located and fixed the problem). At this point it is unlikely that I will use my ONE call to clean-up the remaining problems since I have no idea what might happen the next time AVG connects to my machine. If necessary, I will find a reputable local tech and pay to have the work done. In all, I spoke to 6 technical support people. The techs refused to listen to me explain the actual problem and kept interrupting and wanting to solve some problem that they know how to fix. They gave no credible explanation of what had caused the problem (original or AVG-caused). Instead, they kept telling me that: 1. my machine is old, 2. my software is old, 3. I click too many things, 4. my expectations are too high (this was after about the fourth or fifth "fiddle and reboot" and programs which I use all the time were grindingly slow) 5. there are too many programs starting up (start up had not been a problem before AVG worked on the system) 6. and whatever the problem is, it's not them. I have been developing computer software for decades and do understand how a computer works and am perfectly capable of discussing problems with a technician. In fact, I received an email from one tech thanking me for the clarity of my description of the problem he was helping me solve - he listened. To sum up, the technical support was mediocre at best, the customer support extremely poor and the sales technique misleading.

Anne Frost - 06/01/2019

I have just had Euro 89removed from my account. I was not aware of having authorized this withdrawal. There has of recent times been a haziness about some of the messages I am getting from AVG. A security company should have a very transparent business policy. I would appreciate been contacted by your financial department to verify this matter. If not contacted I will be contacting the ombudsman and Customer Rights Assocation. I am with AVG for many years and I am very distressed by the recent developments.

santos123_2019 - 05/17/2019

great pro

Diane - 05/09/2019

I need to cancel this. how do I contact the company?

RJC - 03/01/2019

Great product!!!

Audrey Marcoux - 02/27/2019

AVG has worked great for the past 10 years that I've used it. No computer issues ever!

Douglas - 02/26/2019

Have used your free AVG and appreciated for years. Thank you. I also used your free trials for cleaning up my computers several times. Did once or twice buy one your programs, but most importantly believe that your programs (free or otherwise) have "saved my day" m0re than once. Thanks again.

bob h - 02/13/2019

after purchasing up grades i still need more upgrades.

Steve R####e - 02/08/2019

Having used AVG paid for security for 5 years or so without issue, i was surprised to see i had been downgraded to the free version despite my paid for version having 160 days to renewal. Having contacted AVG and them trying to put things right on two occasions and failing they literally ended support session and left me to it. I did receive an e-mail from them the day after they dumped me saying they had a licensing issue at the back end server. Whatever that means. Anyway they have now said they will e-mail me after 10 working days when (if) they fix it. Sorry AVG that's not good enough. If your solution is to hang me out to dry for 10 days you can stick it.

David - 01/20/2019

I applied for FREE virus removal, but I have been charged£34.99 on 10th November 2018 Do I get a refund?.

Donald - 01/17/2019

I love it, I can now sleep at night know ing avg looks after everthing

Sue Hall - 01/16/2019

PRI AVG Technoligits took £44 99 out of ohave got on to the fraud department .ur account for something we never ordered We have been in contact with the bank who

David Tench - 01/15/2019

Totally confusing . Have used AVG in the past (free version) and wished to upgrade with VPN. Now not sure if the free version is any good. Have now uninstalled all AVG and will look elsewhere...probably Norton as they off a 2 year package that is less complicated