Overall Score

7.8
Please Vote!

Malwarebytes is predominately an anti-malware tool not an antivirus package that was first released to the market in 2006. Most people use this tool for scanning their PC for anything malicious and because it’s free it’s a very popular tool.

  • Features - 6
  • Security - 8
  • Support - 5
  • Affordability - 6
Features

Features

Again, features are very limited but it’s not a full package, it’s just an anti-malware tool. Saying that it does combat all sorts of malicious software from spyware to rogue security software and if you opt for the free version then you can’t really go wrong!

Security

Security

It’s probably the best anti-malware tool out there. The company only concentrates on this feature and so have more time to master it. Whereas when other companies integrate additional features like browser cleaners, password managers etc. it gives them more to develop and less time to concentrate on anti-malware.

  • AV Test - 99.20%
Support

Support

Malwarebyte’s support centre has vast amount of FAQs, plenty of user guides in the form of documents and videos and also a ticketing system. They don’t seem to offer phone or chat support, maybe due to the software being so simple? All you need to do is press scan...

Affordability

Affordability

As mentioned above, it is a free tool but you can upgrade from the free version to their paid solution (only available for PC) which adds scan scheduling, real-time protection and flash memory scanning into the mix. Malwarebytes Home Premium is $59.95 per year for 3 devices, quite a lot we think, for the amount of features you get. You could opt for a full antivirus package for similar money.

  • Overall rating

Janice Cunningham - 08/22/2019

Malwarebytes, When only the best will do for you!!!

Shmuel Sanders - 08/20/2019

Think, shmink, I had paid for and used malwarebytes for a long time. I bought a new computer, and now cannot locate any malwarebytes. Where did it go? Since I had that platform, since I regularly run scans with it, since my name is in your records, since I gave damn good money for the protection, I was thinking to use it again. I would seem to be a natural as a customer.

Michael Fay - 06/24/2019

I downloaded Malwarebytes and paid for it..but it hasn;t opened up,,,can somebody help me?

Dennis - 03/24/2019

WARNING, If you get a Ransomware Attack, you have less than 5 seconds to close that tab, after that, You Must Force A PC Shut Down, hold down the power button till your PC shuts down. Should take about 3 to 7 seconds to do a total shut down. After that, you can do a normal restart. If you have your bronzer set to open all previous tabs, you have to do one of two things you can do, make sure that it opens on a different tab or close that tab in less than 5 seconds after it opens, or you will have to repeat everything again.

Noel Dunn - 03/02/2019

Has proved to be a life saver in the past

Lynn Marie - 02/19/2019

I have had the free version of malwarebytes on my mac for about 5 years. It works great. No complaints.

Mrs Judith King - 02/13/2019

Malwarebytes has badly intruded on to my web site without any permission from me, & now, when I`ve complained to them they have tried to obtain my credit card numbers to collect a fee of $5 (refundible) to discuss what they can do to assist!!! Today I shall be instructing my lawyer to commence legal proceedings against you for "home intrusion" & whatever else they recommend to ensure their appearance on my screen is obliterated. Australians know far too much about financial scams to ever provide any card particulars to foreigners, so that attempt was useless. Now some deletion action is required from you- so please attend ASAP

Lucie P - 02/11/2019

Instantly found the nasty malaware I could not get rid of and deleted it. One week in, the hourly scans have not slowed down my computer (vs a huge McAfee type program). Will likely pay up and get peace for mind.

Den Gibson - 02/09/2019

I cancelled my subscription after being charged for a one year subscription, that was in 2016, now, three years later i am still being charge $55.99 for subscription that was cancelled in 2017, and again in 2018 when i was charged again $55.99 for a programme that i was not using, nor could i use it.. It seems to me that MALWAREBYTES may have a fancy name, but that is about the strength of it, believe me, its not worth paying for, nor entering into as an agreement, as a matter of fact, i would not go near it in the first place, its just not worth the trouble of trying to get your money back after cancellation...

JackdaShack - 01/23/2019

I've used Malwarebytes Free for years. Now in an instant it can't seem to be removed from running. So when I start to get frustrated with a program I just delete it. Which I will do and depend on SuperAntiSpyware. Why do you programers do such things? Power? We don't have to use your programs. Too many out there it one gets dumb all of a sudden.

Helena - 01/12/2019

I don't have malwarebytes, I don't want malwarebytes I will NEVER have malwarebytes. Yet 15 + times a day you come up on my computer asking me to take Malwarebytes. I have grown to HATE you. I am so sick of your ad appearing on my computer & there os no way I can get rid of you. What an invasion on my computer. PLEASE STOP!!!

Jordi Rivero - 01/10/2019

Has worked well. It has blocked to attacks and quarantined the intruder.

Lynn Staton - 01/08/2019

I just updated malware bites on my mac desktop. Now my computer is frozen up. What the hell?

John Hudson - 12/14/2018

The Free version of MalwareBytes does NOT offer ROOTKITS scans, as listed on this review page, unless the CUSTOM SCAN is chosen & appropriate blocks checked. It does NOT matter that the Protections Tab says that Rootkits is "checked" to be scanned... it will Not Happen. In fact, my free version doesn't work at All now except on Custom Scan mode (and yes, it is fully 'updated' with the latest FREE version definitions, but refuses to do even the Monthly* 'Normal' scan...). I have tried working with Support but for some reason I just can't seem to explain things so they understand what I mean. I would still recommend the AV (even the free version) but they seem to have turned Mine 'OFF'.

Johanna R - 12/08/2018

It seemed to work great, no problem