Overall Score

8.3
Please Vote!

Mcafee is an antivirus giant, now owned by Intel (since 2011) is probably the most well known security software out there. However, in 2014, Intel confirmed that they were going to drop the Mcafee branding and concentrate on a design much like the rest of their products. The software itself is still feels like a McAfee product, even with the re-skin of the interface from intel, and of course still picks up those nasties as effectively, if not more efficiently than ever before! Intel have also introduced products for small businesses and enterprises, which would make sense seen as Intel’s market is so broad. Pushing a commercial product like this to their clients in the commercial world should be easy, but does that mean you should use their product?

  • Features - 7
  • Security - 8
  • Support - 8
  • Affordability - 7
Features

Features

The feature set from their Total Protection suite is exceptional in comparison to the opposition. You not-only get an antivirus but also password storing, anti-spam and encryption software all built into the one package. It seems like McAfee are concentrating on preventing malicious attacks rather than just dealing with the problem when it occurs, which is a step-above the rest and should give you a lot of confidence when using this sleek software suite.

Security

Security

Reports and tests prove that Mcafee is very good at detecting what’s good and what’s bad, which ultimately means the end user won’t get frustrated from legitimate software being banished to quarantine - this makes for a top-notch user experience, along with the polished user interface and immense feature set.

  • AV Test - 100.00%
  • AV Comparatives - 99.40%
Support

Support

Like most antivirus/security company website’s you get a dedicated support centre to guarantee you can find the solution to any problem. Just like Norton, you get a categorical breakdown of supports sections and search functionality. However unlike Norton you can’t get into live chat without filling a form out - the form idea seems to be a universal idea from security companies, implemented some way or another probably to prevent spam on their sites. It may take a little longer for you to connect to a support representative however you are guaranteed a great service. A bit of typing before connecting means you don’t have to introduce yourself and answer the generic ‘get to know you’ questions when joining the chat or phone call - which of course will save your time! Oh and at peak times, we waited an average of 2 minutes to get connected, which we think is awesome!

Affordability

Affordability

Mcafee Total protection is the top of the range antivirus suite they offer and at only $44.95/year obviously this is a great saving and we’d definitely say it’s worth shelling out whilst the offer is still valid. The product is an award winner so this implies the product is going to exceed expectations, along with its huge feature set (much more than just an antivirus package) and fresh new design it’s definitely worth a look! To top it all off, Mcafee say you can ‘Protect every device you own with the same subscription at no extra cost’. This completely obliterates the competition by eliminating the idea of extra licenses for additional devices, which is outstanding value for money!

  • Overall rating

John and Patricia Pate - 05/12/2019

ON 12TH APRIL, 2019, MCAFEE DEDUCTED $134.95 FROM MY BANK ACCOUNT TO COVER 12 MONTHS SUBSCRIPTION TILL MAY, 2020. THIS HAS BEEN CONFIRMED BY MY CREDIT CARD RECORD. HOWEVER, THIS MORNING I AM BEING ADVISED THAT MY SUBSCRIPTION IS OUT OF DATE BY 2 DAYS AND MY COMPUTER IS UNCOVERED FOR SECURITY. PLEASE ADVISE ME AS TO WHY???? PATRICIA PATE - EMAIL patriciaj40@gmail.com

Daniel aka budget computers - 01/28/2019

i like this antivirus program its fully functional and easy to understand i have been using it all my life so far and have had very few problems with it. i wish for this to continue to get better.

Martin - 01/02/2019

Very expensive and when I needed it against THOR it failed completely. Thor just kicked it out

stuart mcconnell - 12/14/2018

really really pissed off that it turns itself off if you do not use Yahoo............screwed up my laptop until we were able to reinstall Google and get all our passwords and history back!! now looking for a new provider, cant believe they actually charge you to hijack your computer.................

duane - 11/05/2018

my mom bought the full protection from mcafee a few years ago. she turned on her computer one morning to find over 1000 viruses were on it. we called up McAfee and they wanted to charge her over 150 dollars to fix what their software didn't do. she finally paid for them to remove the viruses and they fried her hard drive. she had to buy a new computer after that. I know what your thinking but no, no one in the household was watching porn. my mom was the only person using the computer and she uses it only for facebook. I would not recommend McAfee to anyone to use let alone purchase. the fact that they are in the top 10 is a joke. they must have a lot of employees writing positive reviews.

Andrew - 08/03/2018

Dreadful support! Tried to use McAfee with Outlook, but it crashed Outlook every time: "Outlook experienced a serious problem with the 'mcafee addin' add-in." I checked for all available updates. Impossible to get any support from McAfee-- the Chat window is a blank window and nothing happens for more than 43 minutes (gave up after that) and phone service is no better. I give up -- I'll monitor all email myself.

Tim - 02/18/2018

Changed from Norton to McAfee and what a difference - computer runs faster, scans without interference or noticeable delay during my work and most importantly having used the software for 18 months, my computer is running just as fast as the day it was bought and with no nasty's in the system!

James Murphy - 02/16/2018

absolute junk. pop ups everywhere and customer support is nothing but a sales team that will not fix any issue without either payment or upgrade. this software IS a virus.

Richard - 02/13/2018

Sure wish I saw this site sooner. I've been paying a bundle for McAffee and Malwarebytes. They flat out lied to me about what they can do. Well, McAffee skipped over two viruses on my PC and when I called support they said I didn't have the update even though I was using the updated version. Malwarebytes ended a free trial by sending me warnings that my computer was being hacked followed by their demand of $59.95 for securing 3 devices.

Dana Wouster - 02/09/2018

I am very Upset, I purchased Anti virus protection 1 month ago @ wal mart installed it and it has vanished from my system and when i tried to get it back it wants me to pay $89 really unacceptable

Anti-Mcafee - 02/09/2018

Absolutely annoying, Do not download, changes all my setting to its own preference, and gives warnings to nothing, if already installed, I recommend deleting it.

Diana - 11/23/2017

will change to something else. I keep getting warnings on my computer that a virus has been attached and telling me to not turn off my computer, when I do a scan it tells me nothing has been found

Krish - 11/05/2017

So far the worst Antivirus for me. Not recommend.

Michael - 10/30/2017

I have been using this product for several years but am going to change to another antivirus. The reason being no matter how many times I set it up to do a full scan twice weekly at 7 pm it never does. If I do the full scan manually it always stops at about 40% and again at 65% and I have to keep clicking on it to make it carry on with the scan, so no question of being able to leave it to do a full scan on its own.

tgiann - 10/28/2017

Absolutely useless. 2 computers severely infected and slowed and this product showed nothing. Used a FREE software which found several infestations and resolved them. Called their customer service and they offered me a lifetime discount of 80%. They know its useless. Get yourselves free software does a better job overall on all uses. ABSOLUTE GARBAGE nice packaging, but totally useless. Nothing free version of AVAST or CCleaner cannot perform substantially better.