Overall Score

8.3
Please Vote!

Mcafee is an antivirus giant, now owned by Intel (since 2011) is probably the most well known security software out there. However, in 2014, Intel confirmed that they were going to drop the Mcafee branding and concentrate on a design much like the rest of their products. The software itself is still feels like a McAfee product, even with the re-skin of the interface from intel, and of course still picks up those nasties as effectively, if not more efficiently than ever before! Intel have also introduced products for small businesses and enterprises, which would make sense seen as Intel’s market is so broad. Pushing a commercial product like this to their clients in the commercial world should be easy, but does that mean you should use their product?

  • Features - 7
  • Security - 8
  • Support - 8
  • Affordability - 7
Features

Features

The feature set from their Total Protection suite is exceptional in comparison to the opposition. You not-only get an antivirus but also password storing, anti-spam and encryption software all built into the one package. It seems like McAfee are concentrating on preventing malicious attacks rather than just dealing with the problem when it occurs, which is a step-above the rest and should give you a lot of confidence when using this sleek software suite.

Security

Security

Reports and tests prove that Mcafee is very good at detecting what’s good and what’s bad, which ultimately means the end user won’t get frustrated from legitimate software being banished to quarantine - this makes for a top-notch user experience, along with the polished user interface and immense feature set.

  • AV Test - 100.00%
  • AV Comparatives - 99.40%
Support

Support

Like most antivirus/security company website’s you get a dedicated support centre to guarantee you can find the solution to any problem. Just like Norton, you get a categorical breakdown of supports sections and search functionality. However unlike Norton you can’t get into live chat without filling a form out - the form idea seems to be a universal idea from security companies, implemented some way or another probably to prevent spam on their sites. It may take a little longer for you to connect to a support representative however you are guaranteed a great service. A bit of typing before connecting means you don’t have to introduce yourself and answer the generic ‘get to know you’ questions when joining the chat or phone call - which of course will save your time! Oh and at peak times, we waited an average of 2 minutes to get connected, which we think is awesome!

Affordability

Affordability

Mcafee Total protection is the top of the range antivirus suite they offer and at only $44.95/year obviously this is a great saving and we’d definitely say it’s worth shelling out whilst the offer is still valid. The product is an award winner so this implies the product is going to exceed expectations, along with its huge feature set (much more than just an antivirus package) and fresh new design it’s definitely worth a look! To top it all off, Mcafee say you can ‘Protect every device you own with the same subscription at no extra cost’. This completely obliterates the competition by eliminating the idea of extra licenses for additional devices, which is outstanding value for money!

  • Overall rating

Vickie Murray - 08/23/2019

I have had an Auto Renewal Security Agreement for 5 years. I receive an email from McAfee each year to inform me of the charge on my Credit Card, 79.99US /108.75 Cdn. Today when I tried to look into a Canadian product, I noticed my McAfee acct displayed I have 0 devices protected. I called, because all info online is in French and I have been paying for 5 yrs for ZERO protection! They can only protect a Windows device! BUT, THEY KEPT TAKING MY MONEY. I have a Apple product. All the charges came thru my Apple device, but no protection services. Someone was to call me back regarding retro reimbursement - hrs later no call.

Seweryn Pas - 08/05/2019

I bought / got a laptop from Curry's PC World and i got McAfee with it soon after i checked my email account made by curry's and it said my subscription ran out but once i got to my other email it was still active and running to this day it had removed some virus / virus downloads and there support are very nice and the site is easy to use and blocks adds if you know how to set it up also it doesn't cost much a year as its is £100 a year or £8 or £9 a month which is not much if you use your PC / laptop every day for work / school / gaming after all it is a very good antivirus.

ali Tabit - 08/01/2019

hi i bought your product seven months ago but had to clean and change my computer.how do i get re access to my account?

Vahle - 06/25/2019

Have first year at reduced price. Subscription is still active until 2020, but I'm constantly being WARNED that my subscription is 0ver and don't have Anti-Virus Protection! Microsoft should fine a new virus protection!

John and Patricia Pate - 05/12/2019

ON 12TH APRIL, 2019, MCAFEE DEDUCTED $134.95 FROM MY BANK ACCOUNT TO COVER 12 MONTHS SUBSCRIPTION TILL MAY, 2020. THIS HAS BEEN CONFIRMED BY MY CREDIT CARD RECORD. HOWEVER, THIS MORNING I AM BEING ADVISED THAT MY SUBSCRIPTION IS OUT OF DATE BY 2 DAYS AND MY COMPUTER IS UNCOVERED FOR SECURITY. PLEASE ADVISE ME AS TO WHY???? PATRICIA PATE - EMAIL patriciaj40@gmail.com

Kzy Emerson - 05/06/2019

Be careful. I thought I was getting their product but was directed to 3rd party site. Out $785 and no protection.

Sreve Espinosa - 04/11/2019

Please do not take any payments from Bank card not intrested need a response ,I will do stop payment and prevent anauthorized self serve payment your company did this lasr year without my authorization not good business please respond !

Thomas Daly - 04/08/2019

I want to e mail mcafee about three viruses they are blocking me from watching my screen they want Scan my laptop I thought mcafee could block them Dalynewyork@ outlook.com. They want to scan my laptop my scan

Slick - 02/12/2019

I bought this software from Curry/PC World last year... It started to fail on 8th month and by 9th month it ceased to function completely, on every startup it told me that my firewall was in operative and not running and should it fix it...obviously YES... every time I restarted my laptop??? Then it quit working altogether with almost 3 months of agreement left to run... Then after making alternative arrangements it TURNED OFF my new software...!!! I then tried to uninstall...failed I then started deleting directory by directory...failed I ten deleted directory by directory until just one file was left...even that failed to remove it and it reinstalled itself!!!!! I have just used task manager and my new software to remove it, during removal it started throwing pop up after pop up at me asking why I wanted to delete it... I told them why... it reinstalled itself!!! I then used new software to remove it and as soon as any pop up came I used task manager to remove it... As I finally thought I had got rid of it new software came up with "1 failed uninstall" So tell me... How do I make sure it NEVER comes back???

Daniel aka budget computers - 01/28/2019

i like this antivirus program its fully functional and easy to understand i have been using it all my life so far and have had very few problems with it. i wish for this to continue to get better.

Martin - 01/02/2019

Very expensive and when I needed it against THOR it failed completely. Thor just kicked it out

stuart mcconnell - 12/14/2018

really really pissed off that it turns itself off if you do not use Yahoo............screwed up my laptop until we were able to reinstall Google and get all our passwords and history back!! now looking for a new provider, cant believe they actually charge you to hijack your computer.................

duane - 11/05/2018

my mom bought the full protection from mcafee a few years ago. she turned on her computer one morning to find over 1000 viruses were on it. we called up McAfee and they wanted to charge her over 150 dollars to fix what their software didn't do. she finally paid for them to remove the viruses and they fried her hard drive. she had to buy a new computer after that. I know what your thinking but no, no one in the household was watching porn. my mom was the only person using the computer and she uses it only for facebook. I would not recommend McAfee to anyone to use let alone purchase. the fact that they are in the top 10 is a joke. they must have a lot of employees writing positive reviews.

Andrew - 08/03/2018

Dreadful support! Tried to use McAfee with Outlook, but it crashed Outlook every time: "Outlook experienced a serious problem with the 'mcafee addin' add-in." I checked for all available updates. Impossible to get any support from McAfee-- the Chat window is a blank window and nothing happens for more than 43 minutes (gave up after that) and phone service is no better. I give up -- I'll monitor all email myself.

Tim - 02/18/2018

Changed from Norton to McAfee and what a difference - computer runs faster, scans without interference or noticeable delay during my work and most importantly having used the software for 18 months, my computer is running just as fast as the day it was bought and with no nasty's in the system!